Happy Birthday, Kenzlee

Kenzlee,

My button.

It’s four days since your 5th birthday.  I would have posted on that day, but we are at Chicago reunion (Family Camp), and things are busy.   We are in an enchanted land, so unlike the city.  You play freely.  Outside and in.  Kids around…with every grown-up watching.  Parenting is shared, in community, the way God intended.  The safest richest yet.

Mom and I took you to ride a horse on Tuesday.  Tuesday was “your day.”  His name was Wizard.  A white quarter-horse with a gentle temper.  You held his reins in your little hands.  You followed the riding teacher with your signature focus and intent.  Left, Right.  Backward, Stop.  Wizard came to a rest.  To make him go, you had to give him a little kick.  When time was up, you almost cried.  Didn’t want to get off.

Five years ago you came into our world.  Bruised and bumped, but beautiful and new.  Your life had just woken up.  Your eyes, like today, chocolate chips.

Small and fastidious.  Good with your words.  Intent and determined.  You carry in you the spirit of hope.  You do your own thing….and don’t give up.

You’re a little person.  A whole person, who’s feelings come in concentrate: life-sized, but in smaller quantities. 

Not shy, but a slow warmer.  You loved to be picked-up or on my lap, but you know when you want to be alone.

I don’t have words for my love for you.  You truely are my heart running, playing, drawing, and dancing outside of me.

–  Love, dad

One response to “Happy Birthday, Kenzlee

  1. “I don’t have words for my love for you. You truely are my heart running, playing, drawing, and dancing outside of me.”

    Tears. Goodness gracious.

    Happy, happy Birthday Z!

    We love you and can’t wait to spend time in our favorite woods with you!

    3 weeks and counting!

Leave a comment